The Great Gastby

After reading To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee in February (my first litterateur!) I noticed that I have a thing for old books too, even though it’s a little difficult for me to read I enjoy reading books like these, and I try to re-read what I don’t understand.

I decided to watch the movie The Great Gastby first and I loved it. Love, love, love. It is a great love story.

Mr. Gastby was a mysterious millionaire  who threw huge parties from 9 am to way past midnight and everyone was invited. There were a lot of different stories about who he might have been and where all his money came from. Mr. Gastby was Nick Carraway’s neighbor who lived in West Egg, and on the other side of the bay across from Nick Carraway’s house lived Nicks beautiful cousin Daisy with her husband, Tom Buchanan.

Why did Mr. Gastby throw these massive parties ? Everyone attended to enjoy beautiful Jazz music, champagne, the colored lights, saxophones and violins. Cornets and piccolos, and low and high drums.

Nick was also cut between dark secrets from almost everyone he knew Tom, Daisy, Gastby. Everyone believed the lies that had been told  and was written in the papers, but the only ones who knew the truth couldn’t speak as loud as the media and the rest swallowed the truth or ended  living in a cruel way.

“..it was an extraordinary gift for hope, a romantic readiness such as I have never found in any other person which is not likely I shall ever find again. No – Gastby turned out all right at the end; it is what preyed on Gastby, what foul dust floated in the wake of his dreams that temporarily closed out my interest in the abortive sorrows and short-winded elation for men.”

One of the greatest novels from the 20th century, classic of American literature  following from the First World War. A must read for classic & romantic book readers.

Xo, Gely

Leave a Reply

